Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees focuses and activates the Mission of the school and holds the College of Teachers and the Administrative Director responsible for accomplishing the school’s Vision and Strategic Plan. The Board is responsible for legal and fiduciary stewardship, strategic planning, budget approval, fundraising leadership and risk management oversight of the school’s affairs.

2019-2020 Board of Trustees

Executive Officers

Melissa Gordon
President and Chair

John Figiel
Vice-Chair, Governance Committee Facilitator

Joe Mulherin
Vice President, Audit Committee

Dan Hoffmann
Vice President, Capital Campaign Co-chair

Brad Mulcahey
Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair

Kiah Shapiro

Board Members

Karen Anderson
Committee on Trustees Chair

Lara Blumstein
Advancement Committee

Sylvie Desouches
Faculty Trustee

Matt Eging
Advancement Committee Chair

Luke Goodwin
Faculty Trustee, Administrative Director

Tarah Hartung
Governance Committee, Committee on Trustees

Amy Kahn
Advancement Committee

Adam King
Governance Committee

Kiah Shapiro
Marketing Committee Chair

Nancy Szymanski
Faculty Trustee

Chris Kuck
Faculty Trustee

Board Committees

Joint Committees of Board and College

Board Executive Committee (BEC) is composed of the non-employee Officers of the BOT and meets monthly to set the agenda for each BOT meeting. The BEC performs oversight of the administration and operation of the School as part of the responsibility of the BOT to support the CWS Mission. The Administrative Director and the College Chair alert the BEC to any issues that require BOT attention. As necessary, the BEC acts on behalf of the full BOT on time-sensitive or urgent matters that arise between BOT meetings. The Administrative Director provides regular reports on administrative matters, including the work of the Management Team. The Board Chair brings content from the weekly SEC meetings. Officers bring reports from the committees of the BOT. This committee supports the Board Chair as needed and collaborates with College members in the planning of Leadership retreats. The BEC, in consultation with the Management Team, evaluates the Administrative Director. The BEC works closely with the Administrative Director in setting his/her goals, and offers ongoing and regular guidance in the performance of his/her duties. Melissa Gordon (President, BOT Chair), John Figiel (BOT Vice Chair), Dan Hoffmann (BOT VP, Capital Campaign Committee Co-Chair), Joe Mulherin (BOT VP, Audit Committee), Brad Mulcahey (BOT Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair), Kiah Shapiro (BOT Secretary).

Advancement Committee assists the BOT in carrying out its responsibility to raise the funds needed for the School to fulfill its Mission and pursue its strategic goals. This committee works with the Development Director to establish development goals and strategies, coordinate all fundraising efforts for the School, and actively solicit contributions to the School. Matt Eging (Trustee, Committee Chair), Lara Blumstein (Trustee), ), Janae Gianou (Parent), Luke Goodwin (AD), Emily Jenkins (Parent), Amy Kahn (Trustee, Alum Parent), , Becky Moskowitz (Advancement Director).

Audit Committee assists the BOT in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities regarding the School’s financial reporting process, audit process, and internal controls. This committee monitors the School’s management of risk and compliance with laws, regulations, and fiduciary obligations. Bob Wild (Committee Chair, past BEC VP), Joe Mulherin (BEC VP).

Committee on Trustees assures that the BOT has an appropriate constellation of membership by identifying, recruiting and nominating new Trustees, and coordinating plans for leadership succession. This committee manages the orientation of new Trustees, and coordinates the training and development of the entire BOT. Karen Anderson (Committee Chair, Trustee), Luke Goodwin (AD), Melissa Gordon (BOT Chair), Tarah Hartung (PTO Liaison), Becky Moskowitz (Advancement Director).

Capital Campaign Committee (CCC)
develops and executes the strategy for the School’s Capital Campaign, raising the funds needed to purchase, renovate, lease or build a permanent campus for the School. This group of highly visible CWS leaders coordinates and manages the collaborative work of the BOT and its Committees, the School Administration, the Faculty and volunteers in support of the campaign. Dan Hoffmann (Committee Co-Chair, BOT VP), Sarah Mulcahey (Committee Co-Chair, Parent), Luke Goodwin (AD), Melissa Gordon (BOT Chair), Dana Hegedorn (Senior Operations Director), Amy Kahn (Trustee, Alum Parent), Becky Moskowitz (Advancement Director).

Finance Committee assists the BOT in fulfilling its responsibility to oversee the financial affairs of the School. This committee works with the Finance Director to review and monitor the financial performance of the School on a monthly basis, generate balanced operating, hiring and capital budgets, enforce adherence to those budgets, ensure sound financial operations and management of assets, and develop finance-related policies and procedures that serve the long-range goals of the School.Brad Mulcahey (Committee Chair, BOT Treasurer), Claire Howard (past BEC Treasurer), Dan Hoffmann (BOT VP), Valerie Colis (Past Bord Chair, parent), Jim Lowe (extended community member), Margarita Slavina (Faculty), Luke Goodwin (AD), Dana Hegedorn (Senior Operations Director), Alicia Larrieu-Ward (Finance Director), Erin Gutierrez (Finance Associate, Recording Secretary), Josh Whited (parent).
Investment Sub-Committee is a subcommittee of the Finance Committee. It recommends to the BOT how the School should invest its endowment funds and what amount of return on investment the school should use in its yearly operating budget; monitors the investment portfolio’s return, including setting investment objectives and meeting with the professional adviser; periodically reports to the BOT on the endowment’s performance.

The Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) assists the BOT in fulfilling its responsibility to make sure the School has healthy and constructive relationships with the entire CWS community. The PTO is the formal social structure for all adults in the School community and exists to both provide a quality framework for and actively encourage the school community to participate in the life of the school. The PTO works in collaboration with the BOT, the Faculty Chair, the Administrative Director and the non-college Faculty members to plan, facilitate and communicate the work of the PTO.

Joint Committees of the Board and College

Governance Committee documents and reviews the School’s collaborative governance agreements and recommends changes as needed.Carol Triggiano (Faculty), Sylvie Desouches (Faculty), Melissa Gordon (BOT Chair), Tarah Hartung (BOT PTO-Liaison), Luke Goodwin (Administrative Director), John Figiel (facilitator), Adam King (Trustee), Frances Vig (Faculty), John Figiel (Facilitator, BOT Vice Chair)

Equity and Inclusion Committee (EIC) works to raise awareness and to facilitate collaborative and effective efforts among the school’s decision-making bodies and administration to pursue its strategic goals of Inclusion & Diversity. The IDC supports the work of the College of Teachers, the BOT, and the Administration to build and sustain an inclusive school culture by examining policies and procedures in all areas of the school, and make recommendations to the College and the BOT. Andrea Shaffer (Committee Co-Chair, Faculty), Nancy Szymanski (Committee Co-Chair, Faculty Trustee), Chris Kuck (Faculty Trustee), Lauren Pilgrim (parent), Oli Lopez (Admin), Brian Dorsam (Admin), Adriana Sandrolini (parent), Evan and Rebecca McAlpine (parents).